View from an abandoned Minnesota School

Abandoned Minnesota

Maybe because I work in a photo studio located in the basement of an industrial building with no windows, I like these “through the windows” shots. I often take them when I find these abandoned schools, imagining the students daydreaming as they stare outside at the changing weather.There aren’t a lot of these one room schools still around in Minnesota. If left to the elements, once the roof has been compromised, the humidity in the summer helps things to decay quickly. I have a lot of questions about this school, I haven’t been able to find out the name or the years it was in use. What did it look like when this school was in use? Were there cornfields across the road or woods that had yet to be cleared? Time is not on the side of this school. It sits at the junction of 2 rather well traveled county roads and is part of a cow pasture. A sign outside says the land is for sale, but it has been for sale for over a year with no buyer. Inside, the old wood stove still sits against the wall and the barn swallows’ nests pile up on top of the window frames. Another piece of history is slowly fading away without as much as a dying whimper. I’m glad I got to stand inside it, even now I can stand in the same spot as someone did 50, 60 or 70 years ago, and that will stay with me through these images.

Leave a Reply

